In order to recertify through AHIMA, credentialed individuals are required to comply with the following continuing education standards as set forth by the Commission on Certification for Health Informatics and Information Management (CCHIIM).Health information professionals may attain one or more of the following credentials:

Certified Coding Associate (CCA)
Certified Coding Specialist (CCS)
Certified Coding Specialist-Physician-based (CCS-P)
Certified in Healthcare Privacy and Security (CHPS)

Certified Health Data Analysts (CHDA)
Certified Documentation Improvement Practititioner (CDIP)

Registered Health Information Administrator (RHIA)
Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT)

These credentials are awarded to candidates upon successful completion of the American Health Information Management Association’s national certification examinations. These credentials are maintained by meeting specific national continuing education requirements.

Recertification Guide 2023