Pictured left to right: Christopher Scott, Dean of Health and Patient Simulation, Laura Piquette, MHA, RHIA, CHPS, CDIP – Faculty, 2018 Award winner – Vania Benavides, HIIM graduate, Tracey McKethan, MBA, RHIA, CCA – Program Director, Health Information Technology, presented by MaHIMA Past President, Walter Houlihan, MBA, RHIA, FAHIMA

MaHIMA awards recognize our members and others for their outstanding contributions to our association and to our profession 2020-2021 Recipients. 

MaHIMA Individual Achievement awards recognize the Best of the Best for their contribution to our profession and to the association.

Our awards are annually given at our Winter Meeting in February.  The following individuals were honored this year on February 5, 2021:

Denise Bourgeois, CCS, RHIT – 2021 Professional Achievement Award
Donna Malone, CPC, CRC, CRC-I – 2021 Champion Award
Sandra Guy, RHIA, CHPA, CCA – 2021 Outstanding Mentor Award
Elyse DiSciullo, RHIA – 2021 Distinguished Member Award

MaHIMA Award

Award Submission Deadline

Award Presentation

Member Recognition (no submission required – recognizes 25+ years of membership) Fall Conference Series, 2021
HIM Advocacy Award October 15, 2021 -Awarded Dot Wagg Seminar
November 5, 2021
Individual Achievement Awards:
Outstanding New Professional Award
Champion Award
Outstanding Mentor Award
Professional Achievement Award
Distinguished Member Award
Mentor Award
January 28, 2022
– Awarded
Winter Virtual Meeting
February 2022
HIM Team Excellence Award March 2022
– Awarded
At facility during HIP week
April 2022
Student Achievement Award (no submission required – winners named by program directors) At school during May 2022 TBD


Retired Past Award Program Winners – These awards are no longer given by the association, but we still want to recognize the efforts of these award winners.  Thank you for your continued support in MaHIMA.

If you have any questions regarding this announcement, please contact Janis Tse, Chair, MaHIMA Awards Committee.  Nominate here!