Congratulations to MaHIMA’s newly credentialed members -2017

AHIMA Launches New Healthcare Informatics Certification- October 18, 2016

Have you recently passed a certification exam for an AHIMA credential?  Apply for the MaHIMA Certification scholarship to defer the testing costs here!
Certification Grant Application Form

CEU Reporting
In order to recertify through AHIMA, credentialed individuals are required to comply with the following continuing education standards as set forth by the Commission on Certification for Health Informatics and Information Management (CCHIIM).

ICD-10 CEU Requirements
For those with a May 31, 2016 deadline, please enter your ICD-10 CEUs into the CEU center or the ICD-10-CEU Reporting Tool by this date. On June 1, 2016, if your required number of ICD-10 CEUs has not been entered, your affected credential(s) will be revoked.

For those who had a March 31, 2016 deadline, reinstatement must be turned in to AHIMA by December 30, 2016. The ICD-10 Requirement Reinstatement Form is located under the Recertification Resources section.

For more information on the ICD-10 requirement, please review the FAQ document to view the ICD-10 CEU policy and related questions

Health information professionals may attain one or more of the following credentials:

Certified Coding Associate (CCA)
Certified Coding Specialist (CCS)
Certified Coding Specialist-Physician-based (CCS-P)
Certified in Healthcare Privacy and Security (CHPS)
Certified Health Data Analysts (CHDA)
Certified Documentation Improvement Practititioner (CDIP)

Registered Health Information Administrator (RHIA)
Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT)


Planning to take the Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) exam? Here’s a tip: If you allot one minute for each multiple choice question and 15-18 minutes for the medical record cases, you should have enough time to finish the test and also revisit any questions you weren’t sure about. This short video offers two more tips you can use to get ready for the exam.
Watch the video

These credentials are awarded to candidates upon successful completion of the American Health Information Management Association’s national certification examinations. These credentials are maintained by meeting specific national continuing education requirements.